When It’s Time to Let Go

Jennifer Bonn
2 min read4 days ago
Photo by Ankush Minda on Unsplash

Are you able to walk away from something or someone when you know it’s time? I am terrible at letting go and moving on because I feel as if I am giving up. I want to hold on to that last shard of hope that something will improve or work out.

I can tell you that it is time to move on when someone or a situation causes you continued stress and emotional upheaval and you have done what you can to resolve the toxicity. There are so many different situations when you want to continue to hold on, and you keep on making excuses for not seeing the toll the toxic situation has on you.

I strongly believe we are sent messages about our challenges through conversations, the media, or other means. Sometimes the message comes through repeatedly, so we are sure to receive it. That is exactly what happened to me. I have a family member who no longer spends any time with me. When I ask if there is a reason why he no longer does anything with the family he tells me he is busy. I have reached out repeatedly and told him I love him, and he often doesn’t answer my texts. The disconnect with him has broken my heart and led to many sleepless nights wondering what I should do. I was scrolling through reels when Tyler Perry came on and said that if you have reached out to someone repeatedly without success you need to let the person go. If someone doesn’t want to be with you, move on because life is too short to beg someone to love you. Several days later, I saw a different person with the same message, and today, I heard it again.

As hard as it is sometimes to let go, it can be the healthiest thing we can do. Let go of the stress of wondering what you should do and surround yourself with people who see your worth and want to be around you.

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org