Jennifer Bonn
3 min readJul 24, 2021

--

Unsung Heroes

Unsung heroes are the people who go unnoticed but without whom you could not enjoy life as much. They are the people who do good deeds without expecting accolades. They don’t want applause or credit, and they only think it is normal to do great things. Here are a few of my ideas of those people whom I consider to be unsung heroes.

Inspirational people. I see these people every time I run a race. Today’s race was a rugged trail race that is known to be treacherous because of roots and rocks. It is not uncommon to see runners coming in with blood running down arms and legs. One of my friends showed me a scar on her arm that she has from falling in last year’s race. It is understandable if many runners avoid races like this so I was surprised today to see a man in front of me running with his arm in a sling. I was behind him for most of the race, and I was praying the whole time that he didn’t fall. After the race, I told him how impressed I was, and he seemed surprised that I didn’t think everyone didn’t come out with an appendage out of commission. It is hard to find excuses for doing something difficult when you see people who keep it moving forward no matter what life throws at them. We need them because it makes us want to be better and to be more grateful for what we have.

The caregivers. We stopped for breakfast after the race, and I saw a wonderful couple in their eighties that I have known for…

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org