Unexpected Messages We Need

Jennifer Bonn
3 min readFeb 2, 2024
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

Have you ever read or heard something that you swear is a message sent specifically for you? It happens to me all the time, and I always feel it is a gift I am receiving. It is a validation that I have done the right thing or a warning about what I should do for my good. The messages always come when I least expect them.

This morning I received one of these messages as I was scrolling through Facebook. There are often quotes and thoughts on my feed, but this morning one hit home. It said, “God took you away from the table you were at because the hostess was feeding you poison.” Let me tell you why this took my breath away.

I retired three years ago from a job that wasn’t good for my mental health. I won’t go into specifics, but it became a toxic work environment for me. Even though it was a relief to walk away it was also difficult to completely break free after being there for so long. I asked myself if I made the right decision to leave, but I was so grateful to not have some of the interactions I had experienced. I would ask God if I had made the correct decision and last night I was asking him if I had caused some of the toxicity, so when I saw this message this morning I felt it was for me. Sometimes God has to slam a door for our good.

I am a people pleaser and also very sensitive. Negative comments can sting like a knife, and it always…

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org