How to Make Connections

Jennifer Bonn
4 min readOct 5, 2024
Photo by Alesia Kazantceva on Unsplash

I start every day with a simple prayer that goes like this, “Let me build people up with my words, and not tear them down. Let me treat others with kindness and understanding and show people love. I hope I can strengthen the connections I have and make new ones.”

Our connections with each other are powerful forces in our lives. Our links to others can help us in life, and we never know when a connection can change our lives. Making these connections is not easy for everyone, so here are a few ideas to try.

· Talk to people. This sounds obvious, but I see people so often who do not want to interact. They have the headphones on, and their eyes are down. They have closed themselves off from any interaction. Everyone has a choice to have time to themselves, or interact with others, but if you are always closed to that interaction, you may be missing out on a great conversation, or a connection that might lead to a friendship.

I met my friend Sally at the gym. We were in a kickboxing class together. She approached me, told me she saw me running all the time and asked me if I would start going to races with her. She said she wanted to be in better shape and meet more people. We were complete strangers, but I thought, “Why not?”. We found a local race and went together. We have been racing together for about ten years now, and we are great friends. She also…

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org