10 Ways for Women to Avoid Dangerous Situations

Jennifer Bonn
3 min readOct 24, 2023
Photo by Saif71.com on Unsplash

I love interacting with people, but when I am out and about I know I have to be aware and careful. According to www.unwomen.org, 30 percent of women have been subjected to physical violence, which doesn’t include harassment. With numbers that high, we have to do whatever we can to protect ourselves. Here are ten ideas.

1. Take a basic self-defense class

I took karate for 8 years and I am so grateful for what I learned in that time. You don’t have to take an official class, but there are many workshops to learn some basics to protect yourself. I went to one thinking I wouldn’t learn anything new, but the instructor told us that it is common for a man to attack a woman while putting things in the trunk. The woman is thrown in the trunk. We were taken outside and shown that there was a release mechanism inside the trunk. I had no idea.

2. Be aware of your surroundings

Look around where you are. See who and what is around you. Don’t be looking at reels on your phone or listening to music. Be aware of what is happening near you.

3. Travel in a group

Go places with your friends whenever you can. There is power in numbers.

4. Don’t accept drinks or food from strangers (other than your server of course)

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org