10 Things to Know About Your First Ultra-Marathon

Jennifer Bonn
3 min readJul 15, 2024
Photo by Isaac Wendland on Unsplash

I did my first ultra-marathon, (anything more than 26.2 miles) in 2016. Shortly before that I had laughed when someone had suggested a race longer than a marathon, but now it is my favorite distance. The ultra community is the most inclusive, helpful, and friendliest running community I know. I love ultras because you can ultra your way which means you choose which kind and what distance, and you choose how you are going to cover that distance.

Ultras have taught me a lot about running and about myself. I have made a ton of mistakes, but they have all taught me lessons. Recently, several people have asked me what to expect at your first ultra. I am giving advice for the average runner. I know at every race there are people who inspire us to do better, and never seem to stop. Here are 10 things that most of us need to know at our first ultra.

· It’s not about speed. At least it’s not for 90% of the people in the race. There are always super fit people who can run fast for what feels like forever, but for most of us it is more about endurance and pacing.

· Walking counts and is a great idea most of the time. An ultra is more about the distance covered than it is about how you got there. A mile is a mile, and you won’t receive judgment on how you choose to cover it.

--

--

Jennifer Bonn

My specialties are education, running, parenting, and self-help. My book 101 Tips to Lighten Your Burden can be found on Amazon. My blogwww.jenniferswriting.org